Home ~ Angels ~ Archangels Dionysius Hierarchy ~ Elementals Guardian Angels ~ Evolution of Angels

Spirit Guides ~ Angel Encounters  ~ Angels in Art ~ Suggested Reading ~ Contact Us

Dionysius Hierarchy of Angels

Nine Celestial Orders of Angels

Seraphims ~ Cherubims ~ Thrones  

Dominions ~ Virtues  ~ Powers  

Principalities ~ Archangels ~ Angels


First order:  Closest in order to God

Seraphims The guardians before God's throne, referred to as "the fiery spirits", they are usually pictured with six wings and flames.  They constantly sing God's praise and regulate heaven.  They are colored a flaming red and gold to symbolize fire.  God's grace flows through the seraphim to the Angels below, dispelling darkness and purifying the universe.  It was from this order that Satan emerged.  Before his fall from Grace, he was considered the Angel who outshone all others.  Seraphims are the highest order of Angels.  


Cherubims Gods record keepers and guardians of God's glory.  Over the years Cherubims have undergone radical transformations from the Assyrian leonine-monster guardian to the winged creature of the Old Testament to a chubby baby with blue wings which appeared in the 1600s.  Originally, Cherubims were depicted with multi-eyed peacock's feathers to symbolize their all-knowing character.  The first Angels mentioned in the bible, God placed the Cherubim at the east of the Garden of Eden to guard the way to the Tree of Life.  They are the charioteers of God and bearers of his throne. 


Thrones Referred to as "the many eyed ones",  portrayed as winged wheels within wheels, whose rims were covered in eyes.  They support the Throne of God and consider how God's decisions should be manifested.  Their mission is to bring judgment for individual karma and society as a whole. 


Return to top

Second order:  Priest-Princes of the court of heaven

Dominions These are the Angels who bring you the teachings of intuition.  Through them the majesty of God is manifested.  They carry scepter and sword to symbolize the given power over all creation and decide what needs to be done to accomplish God's needs and regulate the duties of Angels to ensure the universe keeps working as it should.  They appear in human shape, wearing a triple crown to signify their position over the physical form.  They can be seen carrying a scepter, holding a cross and/or a sword to symbolize the balance between the active and passive forces. 


Virtues Drawing on God's force to work miracles on earth, the "brilliant" or "shining ones" are the Angels of miracles, encouragement and blessings.  Virtues are the ones who become involved whenever people are struggling with their faith.  They have four blue feathered wings and war sparkling armor.  They can often be seen with a scepter, axe spear, sword and/or a shield for protection.  But each of these "tools" are decorated with instruments of passion.  They work hand-in-hand with the Thrones to bestow grace and rewards on those who have overcome deeds in their physical lives.


Powers First order of Angels created by God, it is the job of the Powers to prevent the fallen Angels from taking over the world and keep the universe in balance.  They also bring the power of intellect in such matters as math, geometry, astronomy and so on, making them the professors and educators.


Return to top

Third order: The Ministering Angels

Principalities The protectors of religions, guardian Angels of cities, nations, rulers.  They keep watch over nations and attempt to inspire their leaders to make wise decisions.  Often depicted wearing soldier's garb and sandals, they are seen in human form.  They provide strength to the tribes of Earth to pursue and endure their faith. 


Archangels The "chief-Angels", they carry God's messages to humans and command God's armies of Angels in constant battle with the "Sons of Darkness".  They look after the affairs of humankind and act as guardian Angels to leaders of world movements.  These are the Angels who stand around God's throne, ready to carry out the divine and most important decrees to humans.   According to the book of Revelation, there are seven Archangels who stand in the presence of God, but only four are mentioned in the Old Testament,  Michael, Gabriel, Raphael and Uriel.  The identity of the other three is subject to debate.  The three recognized in the Judeo-Christian belief are Raguel, Jophiel and Chamuel.  Other possible candidates are Ariel, Azrael, Camael, Haniel, Jeremiel, Metetron, Raziel, Sandalphon and Zadkiel. 


Angels Celestial beings closest to humans, Angels are the intermediaries between God and mortals.  Assigned by God to every human being at the time of his or her birth, they assist every aspect of life in the universe.  They deal with the aspects of everyday life and act as the direct gateway for information, knowledge and communications between human kind and the God force.  These Angels are seen with human bodies, wings and clothed in various garments depending on the traditions and visual acceptance of the human they have "been assigned to".  In reality, Angels do not have human bodies, wings or clothing, they are made up of energy and love.  The only thing Angels do not help humans do is destroy themselves, the planet and other human beings, they are always a force for all that is positive, good and true.


Return to top



                         Copyright 2003 - 2009                                                                                                HTML Web Counter